School Board

School Board

Beaumaris Primary School is an independent public school and as such is required to have a School Board which works with the school community to achieve the best outcomes for students.

The School Board plays an important role in contributing to good school governance so that resources are used efficiently and community expectations and the School’s priorities reflect the needs of students.

The Board is comprised of a cross section of the Beaumaris PS community including parents, teaching staff and community members.

Some of the matters our School Board may make decisions on include fees and charges, personal items lists, sponsorship and dress codes. Boards make these decisions with the principal who ensures the decisions adhere to legislative and policy requirements.

Principals also seek the advice of their school boards so as to understand local community views.

The School Board does not intervene in the control or management of the school. This is the role of the principal.

Elections for new board members will be each year.

The Board Members of Beaumaris Primary School are:

Parent Representatives

Sarah Schmitt – Board Chair

Demelza Sutton                      

Alison Churchill

Adam Fay

Mickey Stewart

John Resic  

Community Representatives

James Kent – Ocean Reef SHS

Department of Education

Robert Edwards – Principal

Kristy Woodyard – Deputy Principal               

Tanya Edgar – Teacher

Suzy Lamb – Teacher

Katie Newbury – MCS and Executive Officer